Copying data within Planning is a very useful feature and can save you and your users countless hours of re-creating regularly occurring goals, objectives, and assessments from one time period to another. And while this is a useful feature, sometimes a copy may be performed before all users are ready. It is for this reason that we have provided site administrators the ability to “rollback” a copy. If you are unfamiliar with copying data in Planning, we encourage you to review that process first by reviewing this article on Copying Items.
SELECTING A COPY TO ROLLBACK
If you have determined that a copy rollback is needed or simply want to see a history of copies navigate to the settings area of Planning and click on the “Copy Items” section. Here you will see a list of copies that have taken place within your institution's Planning site, as well as click the copy items button
located in the top right corner to begin a new copy.
In the screenshot below you can see that a copy was performed on 06/08/2019 by Michael Rohan and it copied a total of 5 Planning items and 1 connection from FY 2019 to FY 2020. We can see additional information by clicking on the copy title, “Academic Year 18-19 Data Copy.”
COPY ITEMS HISTORY
Once you have clicked on the given copy you will see the details listed on the previous screen, plus the copy’s description and a full, searchable list of all items that were copied. This comes in handy when needing to verify if an item was successfully copied. Once you have reviewed the details of your copy and confirmed that a rollback is still needed, simply click on the “Select Items for Rollback” button located in the bottom right corner.
Once within the data rollback area, you will see three distinct sections of this page that require action. The first is a rollback description. This is required to proceed with the rollback and will be kept for historical purposes. It is for this reason that a well thought out description should be given that explains why the rollback is taking place.
MODIFIED ITEMS FOR ROLLBACK
The next section is the “Select Modified Items for Rollback.” Once data is copied it becomes accessible to Planning users instantly. Because data is made available to a user immediately after a copy, there is the potential for users to go in and make changes to the recently copied data.
If a site administrator were to rollback the copy, any changes made to the data would be lost, which may not always be the desired result. Luckily site administrators have the option to include or exclude data from the rollback that has been modified. If any data that was copied has been modified since the copy took place it will show up under the “Select Modified Items for Rollback” area. In the example below, we can see that the template “Assessment Information” has a plan item, “Campus Climate Survey,” that has been modified since the copy and we can choose to include or exclude this in the rollback. To include the item in the rollback, simply click the box to the left of the title of the item. If your selection has been successful you should see a green checkmark appear
In the screenshot below you can see that we have chosen to include the modified plan item, “Campus Climate Survey” in our rollback and have provided a description for our rollback. Before we click the “Rollback Items” button we can see that all 5 of our copied items will be rolled back and 0 items from our copy will remain.